Blog Categories

Newsletter Subscribe

About Diamonds

2017-06-01 15:22:11 1 By: Alan Times Read: 220

Carat is the unit weight by which diamonds are measured. When a diamond is referred to as four grains,

it means that it is a one carat diamond. The carat, a unit of mass for gemstones, and of the purity for gold,

takes its name, indirectly, from the Greek word for a carob seed. A carob is a pea like bean that grows on the

Ceratonia siliqua, commonly known as the carob tree which is native in the Mediterranean region. long ago,

if a diamond weighed the same as a carob bean, it was one carob, or as one carat, 200 milligrams in weight 

is equal to one carat. A carat is divided into 100 segments which are known as points. 150 points would equal

one and a half carats.  Diamonds are graded and certified by laboratories using a grading process. Four of

these grading processes are crucial when making a decision to purchase or investment in diamonds. The “Four C's” 

for these criteria are: the color of the diamond, the cut, and of course clarity, then the carat. During the formation

process inner flaws or inclusions occur in most diamonds, the number and the size of these inclusions determine

the clarity of a diamond. Diamonds that are crystal clear create more brilliance, these are rare and pricey!

For a Diamond to be “flawless”, it has to have no surface or internal imperfections. Any flaws that are visible would

be detected by a skilled diamond grader when viewed using powerful magnification. 

Be aware when shopping for diamonds already set or mounted. Should there be more diamonds used in the piece, 

the jewelry tag will only give the CTW or Carat Total Weight, it will not tell the carat weight of all stones in the set 

or mount. Ask questions of the jeweler, keep in mind the “four C's” to enable you to make an informed purchase. 

However, shop around for different shapes, colors and styles of diamonds, to ensure you find what really appeals to you.


Write Comment